Elantra Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I changed the coolant in my 2009 Elantra sedan and used a flush as well. This is my first time doing a coolant change myself. Most places I looked up said to drain the rad via the petcock while both the cap and reservoir tanks were open. Add flush and top off with water, then run engine for 10-15 minutes with heater on max so that operating temperature is reached. Drain as before and then add just water and run again until operating temperature is reached. I actually did this step at least 4 times as the liquid I drained was still coming out dark green. It finally started to come clearer after the fourth time just adding water, but by no means was it just water. I ensured that the cooling fan came on and actually kept my foot on the accelerator to get the rpm's at a steady 2500.

I actually used distilled water through the entire process.

The problem that I had was that the owner manual states the capacity of the cooling system is 6.6 litres or 6.97 US quarts. I was only draining out 2 quarts after the car cooled down. I am supposed to add about 3 1/2 quarts of straight coolant assuming there is about 3 1/2 quarts of almost straight distilled water to achieve a 50/50 ratio. Since I only drained 2 quarts I added 2 quarts of straight antifreeze. There was maybe a little more straight coolant added after burping the system and by this time it was full.

When testing the freezing temperature of the coolant it came as no surprise that the freezing point came to -23 celsius. I'm not sure that this is enough for my location (Toronto, Ontario). Now I'm going to have to drain probably a quart and add another quart of straight antifreeze.