Horrific Problem!!! PLEASE HELP!!! - Hyundai Elantra Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-03-2014, 05:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Horrific Problem!!! PLEASE HELP!!!

Ok, so Im new to Elantras but not cars. It all started off with crystalized ethenol in my gas tank clogging up my injectors. Oh, I have a 2000 Elantra Sedan GLS 2.0 manual, 15x,xxx miles. Car sat for 3 years or so until I got a hold of it. After I started driving it the car became sluggish and check engine light flashed. After weeks of investigation I discovered a mound of brown power-ish stuff on top of injectors. Cleaned them, re installed and after a few days the problenm started back. Looked at the tank and saw that it was almost fulled covered with brown crap. So until I got the money for a new tank I had to remove the injectors and clean every few days. The taking off and putting back on I wore the banjo bolt till it broke. OK, IM SCREWED!!! No one has it listed cant get to the junk yard. CRAP!!! So, I have a fuel rail from an Audi TT laying around. So I mad it fit, cut hoses and all. Only problem, cant bolt it down, different mounting holes. So I did what I had to and tied it down. Every so ofter I had to check it because the injectors would slip out and leaek gas. One night, I checked eveything and drove home. Before getting home I decided to pull into a gas station to check just so I can feel good bout it. When I pull in I see my reflection from another car and, CRAP!!!! ORANGE GLOW FROM UNDERNEATH MY CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It leaked and caught fire. I hurried up and put the fire out. It burnted a few wires, AC belt and timing cover. So heres my problem. I said screw the AC belt and timing cover for right now, I got to get the car back on the road. I rewired the injector harness and all the wires in that loom that goes to the firewall, the best I could. I know the wires there are for injectors, AC compressor,